Never knew how bad I felt until I started feeling better

This weekend was a weekend of firsts! It has been over a year that I have been able to put Alex to sleep meaning been awake when we is going to sleep and have a conversation or read together or just hang out! This weekend I was finally able to put Alex to sleep. I noticed the next morning an immediate change in his behavior like a huge weight was lifted off his shoulders. He was bouncing down the stairs. Again, it is always the simple things that go a long way. Plus, I was able to have a full weekend of activities without taking one step forward and five thousand backwards. I realized that I was so sick on our cruise and am surprised I was able to do what I did!

Don’t get me wrong, I didn’t take a magic pill, but now I am able to almost function in a day without a huge catastrophe of my battery life failing me. I admit that this requires more planning on my part and much help from my friends with silly things. It is all worth it for a nightly ritual with Alex.

So, I will make the most of my very first week of freedom in over a year. My chemo hasn’t been kind to my cancer or my body.  Plus, it is our 14 year anniversary on Wednesday. So, my freedom couldn’t have come at a better time. I will enjoy every moment because I forgot what I was missing during my year of fog and fight. I am still fighting, and I think I am winning over my cancer for today. Until tomorrow…….

One Response to “Never knew how bad I felt until I started feeling better”

  1. terry fierle Says:

    Happy anniversary to u and jim. Love and respect u so.

Leave a Reply

