“Show kindness whenever possible. Show it to the people in front of you, the people coming up behind you, and the people with whom you are running neck and neck. It will vastly improve the quality of your own life, the lives of others, and the state of the world.” — Ann Patchett

I am now out of the fog, but with a new set of side effects. I am super glad to be out of the fog, but still have that “what was I just doing?” problem. I also have a whole set of new issues of lowering my expectations and plans for myself. I love looking at the book my dad made for me from the cruise. It seems like a year ago instead of just a month or so. I am so proud of myself that I did the trip and saw all that I did (never missing a minute!).

Even though I lost a week of time, I was happy that it was summer.  Each day I had a grand plan of going for a walk or taking a shower or getting out of bed. Some days, it happened and some days not a lot happened. So, this is a new phase and I am taking things minute by minute. I cheer my little accomplishments whether it is walking downstairs or taking a shower. Each day, things improve and I must focus on the little things. Unfortunately, gone is the day of multi tasking and telling me a lot of information at once. I am moving at a different pace and now accept it even though it is frustrating at times. I am thankful for those of you who either are good mind readers or just remember that I told you last week what I needed even though I have forgotten.  I am thankful to all the sunshine you have brought me during my foggy and cloudy days. I really do appreciate all the small tokens or gestures of kindness. I appreciate anyone who just solves my problem of the minute even though you may not even see it as a problem.  Often the small things now turn into big things for me. This will change too as my I find the rhythm of this new chemo trio. I am still on loose footing and not quite finding it yet. I have the intention of exiting my house this weekend, but I cannot say exactly when that will happen. Until then, I am walking up and down the stairs and I did shower today. One day at a time. Enjoy yours.

 

One Response to ““Show kindness whenever possible. Show it to the people in front of you, the people coming up behind you, and the people with whom you are running neck and neck. It will vastly improve the quality of your own life, the lives of others, and the state of the world.” — Ann Patchett”

  1. Mary Mullen Brinson Says:

    I have been reading your blog since I first read about it in the Bulletin. I never figured out how to reply to you until now-go figure! I will continue praying for you, for comfort and peace and for your precious sense of humor! With love, Mary Mullen

Leave a Reply

