“I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me! ” Dr Seuss

I am wiped out, but thought I would share some of the highlights of my field trip to UCLA. Luckily, there was not a lot of traffic which made the drive so much more enjoyable. We started with the “who’s on first routine” with my blood test. It was a comedy or at least I thought it was. So, we should give the shot before the blood test…hmmm, don’t we want to know what the number is? Should we send to the lab or do it in this machine that takes 5 minutes? Should we heat the shot to it is boiling or just let it sit iced?  After a couple of pages to the doctor, success! GUESS what? I didn’t look as bad or sound as bad as the numbers showed. Oh, I forgot to jog a bit, so I could really look out of breath. I really have to stop smiling! I will quote some of my “fans”. “I would have bet your number was higher based on how you are acting”. I also would have bet based on my behavior that I don’t have cancer, but I do! Then, off for the next tests. All I can say is I am glad I know my body. I also am glad I do have a doctor (doctors) who hear what I say. After a good audience for my ultrasound which took so long after all audience members could take a peak, my leg started having a spasm! People are we done yet? So, my lymph nodes are on “fire”, but no biopsy necessary. The cancer cells are travelling around on their own field trip and the key is to end this field trip before they form a party at one of my organs! After much discussion  and much hugs, hand holding, (yes,from my doctor!), he said it is time to change the chemo. Of course, my only question was, “weekly”. Both drug options are once every 3 weeks and by IV. Much more to tell, but still waiting for my latest tumor marker test. Yes, my doctor told me to call him on his cell phone throughout the day to have him check to see if the number was posted and yes, he called me to let me know it wasn’t posted and then said, “sending you hugs and know that we will do this and don’t worry, one day at a time!”. Tonight, I will still dream of my salted caramel chocolate tart.

2 Responses to ““I have heard there are troubles of more than one kind. Some come from ahead and some come from behind. But I’ve bought a big bat. I’m all ready you see. Now my troubles are going to have troubles with me! ” Dr Seuss”

  1. Diane Says:

    I love you Joanie…and I’m right behind you…bat in hand!!

  2. terry fierle Says:

    Joanie… Your blogs are really unbelievable. No one could mske up this stuff. Hang on and know u r loved and respected.

    Terry

Leave a Reply

