“I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,” Johnny Nash

Wow, I really forgot how the chemo brain and fog is…it was as if I was on vacation drinking many shots of tequila every day and only remembering faint images of what happened. I am reminded by Alex that I wasn’t that fun to watch football with since I kept saying fumble or touch down which was “wrong”. Today, I drove for the first time in 6 days. I was wearing my other hair with a headband which really freaked Alex out. He kept asking me about 10 times ,if I was going to get out of the car. Just to make him laugh, I kept asking him if he was sure he didn’t need help with his trumpet. I kept telling him that I could be like Campus Catering and drive in the back of the school to give him door to door service. He looked at me as if I was going to actually do it! I reminded him that last summer I wore this hair with this head band and he responded, “it is a lot of forehead, mom.”. Yes, leave it to a 10 year old if you really want the truth. I compromised and dropped him up top and rolled down the window and screamed, “Campus Catering?”.

For all you people who are now saying, “it is cold”, I am telling you that this weather is not cold (try living in Buffalo or Rochester, New York and walking to school in a blizzard!). This crisp sunshine day is what I love. I was so happy to see the sunrise and be outside that I was like a little kid giggling the entire day. I was happy to see friends and friendly faces. I was so happy to be in the moment of the day. I had lunch with Jim and enjoyed every minute even though he was trying so hard not to look at his phone and ignored almost every text and email.

I am even happier that I have tomorrow too!

For those of you who don’t know the song…here are the rest of the words!

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

I think I can make it now, the pain is gone
All of the bad feelings have disappeared
Here is the rainbow I’ve been prayin?for
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

Look all around, there’s nothin?but blue skies
Look straight ahead, nothin?but blue skies

I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,
I can see all obstacles in my way
Gone are the dark clouds that had me blind
It’s gonna be a bright (bright), bright (bright)
Sun-Shiny day.

One Response to ““I can see clearly now, the rain is gone,” Johnny Nash”

  1. Pendar Says:

    I am not kidding you, I heard this song on the radio this morning and thought of you…Yes we are blessed with beautiful weather right now..I love it too. You are in my prayers today and every day XOXO

Leave a Reply

