“Take responsibility for the energy you bring.” Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor

Wow, time flies when you are trying to recover days lost and maximize every second! I have had visits from both my uncles and aunt too! I have savored every moment with my family.  We had a spectacular dinner at the Ritz Carlton Raya with my uncle and there were some incredible flavors that I could taste! Of course, pushing myself to my limits came with a small price…I had a forced rest period. We made candles, went to Balboa Island, Long Beach aquarium, and I loved every minute. Yes, I passed out every evening, but it was worth it. The weather could not have been better and I love the foggy cool mornings.

I did have my small pity party with that teeny tiny violin playing, but it was short lived. I have learned to listen to my body and my goal is to gain some weight as I know this week I will be back to my nasty no fun nausea. I have also learned to move on and try not to get caught up in any frustration. It isn’t worth it. I just say to myself, “is this a problem that is worth this amount of energy?”. Most likely it is not and most likely it is the silly stuff that puts me over the edge. This is when it becomes the all about me-the selfish cancer me. I just try to take deep breaths and move on quickly. It is easier said than done as I am all about the details both small and big. Now, I can only deal with the hours or day ahead. This brings me to Thursday which I would rather not participate in the chemo matrix party. Since I have no choice AND for the first time in a long time, I actually have an appetite, I must go to find out my tumor marker number. I am convinced it is in the normal range. Who knew my body spoke to me with the answers I was seeking? With such a range of ailments, it is difficult to hear the truth of the message!

The real truth is this…responsibility for your energy…I do think Dr Taylor has a good point. I know Alex has this book about the negativity zapping your energy. Very true…we are all entitled to some moments, but it is better to look at the sunny side of things and “do your BEST!” (John Wooden). Feel the sunshine, smell the summer air, smile, hug your friends and family and make the most of your day, I know I will!

 

2 Responses to ““Take responsibility for the energy you bring.” Dr. Jill Bolte Taylor”

  1. amy Says:

    Hi Miss Joanie, Thin king about you everyday. Are you up for a visit tomorrow, Tuesday? OX Amy

  2. Leah Says:

    Your weekend sounded wonderful, I’m so glad you were able to enjoy the sights and flavors : )
    Always thinking postively for you…
    xoxo,
    Leah

Leave a Reply

