“Gimme head with hair, long beautiful hair, shining, gleaming, streaming, flaxen, waxen…” Broadway Musical Hair

I lost that “lovin feeling” for sure as I felt that familiar “hair hurts” pain. Come on…just a teeny break. I am still purple all over and thinking of wrapping myself in bubble wrap to prevent misuse of my new platelets. On Saturday, I was trying to remember what this feeling in my scalp was…oh yes, it is the “raining hair” pain. Jim reminded me that this would happen, but I was in my imaginary world that it would not happen until end of June. Then again, the new chemo was not supposed to mess up my blood counts-OOPS! As I itch my little short hairs on my head, I see those cute hairs fall off. I was so close to having the great reveal of my cute short very short hair cut. Oh well, I will say that it will be a nice cool summer. Of course, I did not notice any missing leg hairs or armpit hairs. Knowing my luck, those will most likely over grow to forest length as well as a new growth of a tuft in my ears?!  I lost my groove for sure as I am at a whole new level of tired.

Yesterday, when Jim and Alex took me to the beach and I was like a dog with it’s head out the window (had I known about the future hair loss I would not have risked the few hairs blowing off my head) breathing the ocean air. I felt like howling, but instead I cried just a little bit. There is no doubt about it, but this really sucks. I had to tell Alex that my hair was falling out again. He gave me a hug and said it is too bad since I was almost okay to not wear my wig. He also asked about the eyebrows and I was told that they will not go, but we will see. He said he hopes my eyebrows stay since it is a lot of work to draw them on correctly.  This is the part that I love/hate.  I tried so hard to not be THAT mom, the one with cancer, but I am reminded too often these past weeks that I am THAT mom. Luckily for me, I have some big time planner friends and my mom who is the ultimate planner. She helped me focus on all the fun things I want to do during my next break after chemo. I do not plan on getting another transfusion and definitely will be ahead of the nausea game.

Of course, this week I need to get my blood taken to see if my body is producing platelets or enough platelets and if my white count is coming up. You all know that I don’t do well in hibernation mode unless there are a lot of EVs around the town. It seems like it is going to be a nice day, so I will walk to my backyard in hopes for some quiet outdoor time. I keep telling myself, 1 down, 5 to go….

Leave a Reply

