“Nothing can stop the person with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal. Nothing on earth can help the person with the wrong attitude.” –Thomas Jefferson

Love this quote!! I am finally seeing the fog lift and no worries, it is safe for me to drive (down the hill). It was a challenging weekend with Alex asking me when will I feel better every hour on the hour. On Sunday, I felt like I was Jessica Tandy in Driving Miss Daisy while Jim and Alex drove me to Dana Point for some ocean air. Alex ran his practice 5k (oops, we had a bit of mathematical challenge and he ran 4.5 miles). After the run, I decided either based on some sweet memories of a friend in Dana Point dining on cheese and fruit or was it memories of trips to Europe? Either way, I ate the entire fruit and cheese tray with Alex’s help on the bread. Was it the Gouda memories with Sue and Caspar? Who knows, but it worked! My first real food. I was convinced that I would not implode after all the fruit!

It took every bit of everything to get myself going for Alex’s 5k.  I got by with a little help from my friends! As I was gripping my can of ginger ale and trying to avoid all vomiting runners at the finish line, I thought I couldn’t do it, but then saw Alex’s face coming around the corner as if he was just running 1 mile. I held my sign up (compliments of a creative friend) and tried to scream a hoarse scream, but he kept running even after the finish line. I could not have been prouder. He ran back to me and kept saying, “I did it, I did it!”. I felt like saying, “I did it too!”, but kept that to myself. We celebrated with a lunch in Laguna Beach which I ate and surprised myself. I even walked a bit on the beach! There is nothing like the ocean air. Then, nap time came and I passed out. In my dream, I was walking down and up to school.

In reality, I walked down the hill like an old lady, but I did it! I needed a ride to get back home, but all Alex cared about was that “we” were walking to school. I still don’t know why my nose keeps bleeding and my voice is now hoarser than hoarse. I am beginning to see the light and am really confused with tomorrow being Wednesday. I don’t like losing days. My next goal is Alex’s choir concert tomorrow and then, Open House. I will go to bed early and rest in between. I can only think of the immediate here and now. I am reminded of the reality when walking up the stairs seems like I ran a 5k, but I am also reminded that this will pass. If I think of these treatments in pairs, I can say to myself, one down, 5 to go. It seems pretty doable. Much better than 10 more, right?!

I am still on the picking of wrong words and I guess I can go with the ole’ excuse of chemo brain. I just hope most of the fog clears by Friday for the flag ceremony at school. Speaking in front of 750 students, I would rather not say some inappropriate words. I think I will avoid the words pennies, defamation, and any other potential danger words. Until then, more sleep and more eating….remember to appreciate the now!!

One Response to ““Nothing can stop the person with the right mental attitude from achieving his goal. Nothing on earth can help the person with the wrong attitude.” –Thomas Jefferson”

  1. Shawna Says:

    I love your comment about thinking of the treatments in pairs . . . good lesson for all of us when looking at the road ahead in any regard!

Leave a Reply

