“The force is an energy field created by all living things, it surrounds us, it penetrates us, it binds the galaxy together” – Obi-Wan to Luke

“The Force will be with you, always” – Obi-Wan to Luke

Oh yes, I have “the Force” and somehow turned a corner just in time for tomorrow. My doctor phoned after I sent him an email of my symptoms and ever present nausea. He apologized and said that we will meet tomorrow to come up with a better plan. I am ready for a new plan. Of course, I needed more anti nausea drugs. In my home pharmacy, I was out…completely out of my key ingredients for the recipe of keeping the nausea under some control. Easy was the refill, difficult was the over $500 charge for 3 pills since my insurance would only cover these meds once a month. Since the “force” was with me countering all negative force fields, I was empowered to pick up the phone and give the insurance a piece of my mind. After the lovely voice recognition, I began repeating, “representative, representative, *$&#*$&*# representative” and I was connected. I had the same tone and determination that I had last week at the book fair standing up against censorship! Sally heard my voice loud and clear as I told her that I would end up in the hospital for a week from dehydration and vomiting and is this cost effective for insurance?  I have cancer, stage IV (now the number comes in handy) and I am in the fight for my life and need these pills. Of course, when needed I can dramatize better than anyone well with the exception of some fine acting skills by my sister and cousin who actually could make a living by acting instead of my fake comedy routines. No sooner did I make a demand for an override, Sally placed me on hold. She returned to tell me (despite her first claim that there was no one on the East coast to help me and all supervisors were gone-hey, what about the West coast people) that the override was done.  Sally ended the call saying she wished me all the best, and could tell from my voice that I was a survivor already and had the strength to fight cancer.  Then, she told me, “I am a survivor too, 11 years, stage IV”! Wow, don’t be messin’ with me negative force fields! The energy field covers coast to coast! I got my meds fully covered. I even managed to eat some dinner too! So, as the sun is setting, I may have a cloudy moment, but I sure do feel the love and positive energy from all of you! Back to my Lady Gaga pod tomorrow and I know with all my homemade treats, the nurses will be so happy! I am already smiling!

2 Responses to ““The force is an energy field created by all living things, it surrounds us, it penetrates us, it binds the galaxy together” – Obi-Wan to Luke”

  1. Pendar Says:

    You are so incredible…you WILL fight this cancer!!! You are in my thoughts and prayers EVERY SINGLE DAY!

  2. Meagan Says:

    I am pretty certain that this blog NEEDS to be turned into a book!! You are truly gifted…
    Prayers your way, keep fighting the force oh wise one and do not give in to the dark side!! ;o)

Leave a Reply

