“If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or Fight Like Hell.” Lance Armstrong

You know I have said before that I cannot stand the thought of children facing this fight of cancer. I still cannot believe that some children take the same drugs as I do and I can barely handle these drugs. On my many missions of doing what I can for cancer patients especially in my “Extreme Makeover Chemo Closet Edition”, I also want to do what I can for childhood cancer. This is why I signed up for the Pediatric Cancer 5K walk at the Irvine Spectrum on May 1st with my family and welcome anyone in the area to join us. A clever friend thought of the name of the team, “Just Tuff Enough” made from the initials of our names, plus means exactly what it says…  Here are some surprising statistics:  1 in 300 Americans will be diagnosed with cancer before the age of 20,  each year cancer kills more children and adolescents than any other disease, the incidence of cancer among children in the U.S. is rising almost 1% per year, every school day, 46 young people, or two classrooms of students, are diagnosed with cancer,  and only 10% of the money budgeted by the National Cancer Institute is directed to pediatric cancer research. For more information, check out:

https://www.kintera.org/faf/donorReg/donorPledge.asp?ievent=437204&supId=325022387

It is a sunshine day (okay, not the Brady Bunch song who knows why things pop into the mind…) and we will go visit the beach for our last day of spring break. I am a little nauseous, but a little ocean air should cure me. Looking forward to some nice oxygenated ocean air!

 

One Response to ““If children have the ability to ignore all odds and percentages, then maybe we can all learn from them. When you think about it, what other choice is there but to hope? We have two options, medically and emotionally: give up, or Fight Like Hell.” Lance Armstrong”

  1. amy Says:

    Sign Noah, Devyn and I up for the walk!

Leave a Reply

