“To laugh often and much;to win the respect of intelligent people and the affection of children…to leave the world a better place…to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived. This is to have succeeded.” Ralph Waldo Emerson

I am laughing this week as I plan our cruise to Europe for 2012. I only was caught up in this analysis paralysis because of a brochure I received that included airfare, shore excursions, wine, tips, wine, did it say wine? When I start to read the details of each excursion, I stop myself and ask if I am wrong to plan so far ahead. When talking with my Mom, I decided no matter what I will go. When there is a giant will, there is a way. I cannot stop planning. That will not work for me.

This week has been filled with a lot of sunshine. I know you may have heard the hail or pouring rain, but that was just the weather.  My sunshine has come from those friendly faces who lit candles for me on Alex’s field trip to the Mission (I was so overwhelmed by this gesture that I started to cry-how embarrassing on a field trip?! Yes, and what was worse was when the docent said, “please remove your hat” I was thinking of pulling off my wig, but I didn’t!) . Some of you let me hang out just to laugh about the same ole’ story of complaining parents who always complain over nothing and do nothing to help solve their “issues”. There were some of you who gave me a hug or a fist pump saying, “just another bump in the road-you can do this”. Your emails, letters, and conversations have encouraged me to ignore the faint whisper of fear and focus on the now, today, this minute.

I guess I can forget the focus on the minute and the now. Unfortunately, tomorrow is prep for the scan day and luckily I re-read the instructions of no caffeine 24 hours prior. I am sure to have a headache as I need a little bit of caffeine in the morning even green tea.  No exercise either-guess I messed that one up last time. It is not that I am going to run a marathon, but never knew that new factoid. Plus, no chewing gum or mints. Has the scan changed since November? No one ever told me that one tidbit and I know the only thing keeping the lovely metallic taste  away was the mints and my scan was clear last time. Oh well, I will do what they say. Until then, I will keep planning Athens to Venice even though last night I was dreaming of the ship rocking back and forth like when my family crossed the Atlantic on the QEII and water was spilling out of the glasses (seriously), but I know the Mediterranean is not the Atlantic! Off to sweet dreams….

 

Leave a Reply

