“Each morning when I open my eyes I say to myself: I, not events, have the power to make me happy or unhappy today. I can choose which it shall be. Yesterday is dead, tomorrow hasn’t arrived yet. I have just one day, today, and I’m going to be happy in it.” Groucho Marx

Yesterday, was standing room only in the chemo closet. Thank goodness I wasn’t a minute late or I would have been sitting in a folding chair. Was it a 2 for one special? Or were people trying to get their chemo in before Halloween? It wasn’t a pretty picture, but at least it did not smell that bad. There was only one nurse for the entire closet. There was my friend from last time who ran out of the closet waving for pain meds, but it took a lot of waving to get the drugs. He was the only one making me laugh besides my cousin Margie and he was in pain. He has a great attitude and told me all about his way of thinking. He convinced me to avoid really looking around the closet of people because it will really depress you. I got the last chair and it was what I call the Alice and Wonderland chair (not to be confused with Alice in Wonderland because the closet is no wonderland). This is more the sinking in the chair never to get out unless you have a lift out. It is better than the eject chair which basically kicks you out of the chair. The wonderland part is more about my body being a wonderland similar to the song by John Mayer.  At least, a relaxing thought for my avoidance of all grey, bald, smileless people in the closet. Of course, things turned a bit worse when they were out of soap, paper towels, and toilet paper. Being the only mobile one who was able to go to the toilet and not have a “crisis”, I became maintenance for the day, but I did not clean the toilet, just re-stocked. With the addition of the pre-meds, I was there longer than I wanted to be…especially when I encountered some of the people from my day of over medicated and chemo while texting incidents. Of course, they reminded me how out of it I was…one told me that her daughter was very concerned.  So as for tonight, I do not recommend doing a chemo closet visit prior to vacation. Things took me a lot longer to do today and my mind is fuzzy, but hey, I am not itching. So, in honor of the musical South Pacific or heading towards it, I am going to wash that chemo right off of my body (not my hair since it is still sprouting). Aloha! I will dream of tropical drinks, floral breezes, and the three R’s, Relax, Refresh, and Rest!

Leave a Reply

