Pursuit of a Cookie

Some of you may know the story of Jim and his cookie tour of Europe, he ate an entire cookie tray in Belgium only to claim that he was tasting for quality control. Also, his favorite is Snickerdoodle, but not snicker snellen which we joked in Holland about a fish with legs. (it is one of those stories that you had to be there) Some of you may be aware that I do not enjoy puddings, cheesecake, and jello. I enjoy a good chewy cookie. We will be on our way to UCLA tomorrow, but my only focus is for a stop at Diddy Riese cookies.  A cookie sounds fantastic after a visit to an integrative doctor who mentioned coffee not for drinking, but another form of cleansing. It did not sound good to me. I gave up coffee for green tea and I don’t want it entering my body either by mouth or anywhere else!  I am sure this is the first of many interesting suggestions which I will continue to make the best decision for me. I am trying to be the “all about me” person, but it is not easy at all. The constant asking and mentioning, “what about me” is overrated.  I don’t see how people follow this way of life. I enjoy so much the giving back and the thinking of others that I will ask for a glass of water, someone to fold my clothes, but I will still think about all of you. I cannot help it!

So today, after not having the best night of sleep because I could not get comfortable, I still got myself up to see Alex off to school. Unfortunately, he was having a bad asthma episode and was more concerned missing the STAR test, than he was about breathing. Why did he not want to miss the test? “It is fun, Mommy.” Oh, that is not me at all, testing was not my friend. So, I called the school to find out what time the test was and scheduled an appointment during 1st recess. We are more careful now because I cannot get any colds or sickness before I get treatment. We were happy to find out that he just has asthma and he should take it easy.  He is enjoying taking it easy while hanging out with Grandpa who know is fully trained in Netti Pot 101 and Nebulizer treatments. Grandpa will be up for a promotion this weekend. He may even get to go to Trader Joe’s twice in one day. I may even give him one of my cookies. My sister comes tomorrow for the weekend and we are looking to have some adventures in hair care or styling with the assistance of my cousin in NYC. It should provide hours of entertainment.

So, what about YOU? How are all of you? Miss you very much!

3 Responses to “Pursuit of a Cookie”

  1. Teri Pay Says:

    Hi Joanie,

    I love reading your blog every morning. It lifts me up for the day. You have such a positive attitude. You are serving all of us by bringing smiles to our faces. The kids are asking about you at library. They are wondering where you are and when you will be back. I didn’t know what you wanted me to tell them so I just said that you had had surgery. Well that wasn’t a good enough answer so they asked Alex who told them you had cancer. They all miss you and the fun you bring to life, just like I do. Continue to get better and know that we are praying for you.

    Teri

  2. amy Says:

    Hey girlie, Enjoy your weekend with your sister!!! Cookies are the best. I will probably dream of them in my sleep tonight. Hugs and Kisses!!!!! OX Amy

  3. Tami Says:

    I am going up to UCLA Ronald Reagan Ctr to take my mom to her Dr appt in the next week or so and I am going to get one of those cookies!!! Were they good? What flavor did you get? Wanna hear something funny but not? Our dog’s anal sac ruptured and I had to put warm compresses on her butt for 4 days, 4 times a day. Its funny now but oh my gosh, when it happened I was horrified. Ok, enough of my craazy life. Miss you xoxox

Leave a Reply

